Copernicus Award 2016 announced

Dodano: :: Kategorie: Latest news, Press Releases, Programme news
-A A+

Prof. Agnieszka Chacińska of the International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology in Warsaw and Prof. Peter Rehling of the University Medical Centre in Göttingen have been named the winners of the 6th edition of the Nicolaus Copernicus Polish-German Research Award, given jointly by the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP) and the German Research Foundation (DFG).

The purpose of the Copernicus Award is to honour scientists from Poland and Germany who have cooperated to achieve distinguished research accomplishment. The winners of this year’s edition have been recognized for conducting joint research (since 2001) leading to the discovery of key mechanisms for biogenesis of mitochondria. Each of the winners will receive a prize of EUR 100,000.

The Nicolaus Copernicus Polish-German Research Award has been given since 2006. Every other year it is awarded to a pair of scholars—one from Poland and one from Germany—selected through a competition covering all fields of inquiry. The winners are selected by a jury of distinguished scholars from Poland and Germany, appointed by FNP and DFG. The winners are expected to have contributed significantly to German/Polish cooperation, bringing together complementary skills, expertise, and resources to jointly address research problems. The results of their cooperation should offer the potential for opening up new perspectives in their research fields or other areas of science.

Candidates for the award are nominated by the scientific community. In the 2016 edition, self-nominations were also accepted for the first time. A total of 28 applications were considered in this year’s competition.

The award ceremony will be held on 7 June 2016 in Warsaw.

More info on winners: here


  • Prof. A. Chacińska – fot. Marcin Mizerski for the International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology in Warsaw
  • Prof. P. Rehling – private archive