FNP Prize 2017 Recipients Chosen

Dodano: :: Kategorie: Latest news
-A A+

The Foundation for Polish Science has for the 26th time granted its FNP Prizes, considered to be Poland’s most important scientific awards. The winners are four leading Polish researchers: Prof. Piotr Trzonkowski, Prof. Daniel Gryko, Prof. Andrzej Trautman and prof. Krzysztof Pomian.

The FNP Prizes are awarded for special scientific achievements and discoveries that shift the boundaries of cognition, open up new research perspectives, contribute significantly to the advancement of civilization and culture in Poland, and ensure our country a prominent position in dealing with the most ambitious challenges of the modern world. The prize money is 200,000 zlotys.

  • Prof. Piotr Trzonkowski from the Medical University of Gdańsk has received the Foundation for Polish Science Prize 2017 in the life and earth sciences for studies on regulatory T cells and their pioneering use in cell therapy of human diseases.
  • Prof. Daniel Gryko from from the Institute of Organic Chemistry of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw has received the Foundation for Polish Science Prize 2017 in the chemical and material sciences for the development of an original method for synthesis and characterization of porphyrinoids.
  • Prof. Andrzej Trautman from the University of Warsaw has received the Foundation for Polish Science Prize 2017 in the mathematical, physical and engineering sciences for the theoretical demonstration of the reality of gravitational waves
  • Prof. Krzysztof Pomian from CNRS in Paris and Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń has received the Foundation for Polish Science Prize 2017 in the humanities and social sciences for pioneering research on the history of collecting and the influence of science and art on the development of European culture.

Candidates for the FNP Prize, in accordance with the regulations, may be proposed by leading scientists invited personally by the Foundation’s Board and Council. The role of the competition committee is fulfilled by the Foundation Council which chooses the winners on the basis of opinions from independent reviewers and experts evaluating the candidates’ achievements. In the current term the Council comprises professors: Leon Gradoń (Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering at the Warsaw University of Technology) – chair, Wojciech Tygielski (Institute of Art History, Faculty of History at the University of Warsaw) – vice chair, Jan Kotwica (Institute of Animal Reproduction and Food Research of PAS in Olsztyn), Włodzimierz Krzyżosiak (Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry PAS in Poznań), Aleksandra Łuszczyńska (SWPS University), Maria Nowakowska (Faculty of Chemistry of the Jagiellonian University), Karol I. Wysokiński (Condensed Phase Theory Department at the Maria Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin).

The Foundation for Polish Science Prize has been awarded since 1992 to a total of 95 winners, including this year’s recipients. The prizes are awarded in four fields: life and earth sciences, chemical and materials sciences, mathematical, physical and engineering sciences, and the humanities and social sciences.

The presentation ceremony will be held on 6 December 2017 at the Royal Castle in Warsaw.