Maria Skłodowska and Pierre Curie – French-Polish Scientific Award

The Maria Skłodowska and Pierre Curie Polish–French Scientific Award is a new joint initiative of the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP), the French Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation (MESRI), and the French Academy of Sciences (Académie des sciences). The aim of the Skłodowska/Curie Award is to recognize distinguished scientific achievements resulting from French–Polish cooperation. The award was established to mark the Polish–French Year of Science.


First Polish–French Science Award announced


The award is intended to highlight the benefits flowing from Polish–French scientific cooperation. It will be given to two cooperating scientists from Poland and France in recognition of their joint research accomplishments contributing to strengthening of scientific cooperation between the two countries.


The most active participants in Polish–French scientific cooperation demonstrating distinguished research accomplishments resulting from that cooperation.


The laureates will receive EUR 15,000 each, including an individual prize of EUR 5,000 and a grant of EUR 10,000 for continued scientific cooperation.


The award is made on the basis of nominations, including self-nominations. A pair of candidates may be nominated by any active representative of the Polish or French scientific community. Nominations may involve researchers from any group or field of inquiry.

Each nomination must designate two scientists of any nationality—one working in Poland and one working in France—holding at least a doctorate.

The nomination should include:

  • Description of the joint scientific accomplishments of the two candidates which have contributed to strengthening of Polish–French scientific cooperation (maximum 5,000 characters)
  • Proposed joint research in the near future (maximum 3,000 characters)
  • Professional CV of both nominated researchers
  • List of up to 10 publications concerning the joint scientific accomplishment indicated in the nomination
  • One letter of recommendation for the nominated pair (or in the case of self-nominations, two letters of recommendation).

The laureates will be selected by a Polish–French award committee appointed jointly by the Foundation for Polish Science and the French Academy of Sciences.


Applications were accepted from 19 July 2019 through 30 September 2019.