The Poland – U.S. Science Award


The Poland – U.S. Science Award is a common undertaking between the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP) and the American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS). The purpose of the award is to give recognition to outstanding achievements accomplished through Polish-American scientific cooperation.


The purpose of the award is to give recognition to outstanding achievements accomplished through Polish-American scientific cooperation. The scope of the award covers the entire spectrum of scientific research excluding art.


The award is granted to two scientists on the basis of a competition.
Candidates are collaborating scientists, one of them working at a Polish research institution and the other at a U.S. research institution, whose achievement was a result their mutual interaction and comparable participation.


Awardees each receive $5,000 as recognition for their achievements.


All active members of the Polish and American scientific community holding a doctoral degree, or working as researchers or research administrator at a university or other R&D institution (including the industrial sector) are eligible to nominate candidates for the Award. Self-nominations shall be also considered.
Award winners are chosen from among the nominated candidates by a jury appointed by the AAAS and FNP including the following Jury members:

Prof. Peter Beerli, PhD, Florida State University
Prof. Magda Konarska, PhD, Rockefeller University
Prof. Karol Myśliwiec, PhD habil., Institute of Mediterranean and Oriental Cultures PAS
Prof. Krzysztof Palczewski, PhD, Case Western University
Prof. Mark Rasenick, PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago
Prof. Andrzej Udalski, PhD habil., Astronomical Observatory, University of Warsaw
Dr. Norman P. Neureiter, AAAS – Chair of the Jury
The Jury may elect to request the opinions of external experts.

The award is granted once every two years.

Link: Call for nominations PLUS Award 2018


31 December 2017


Additional info

Nominations shall be submitted in English only in electronic version by the closing date to one of the following addresses:
Hend Ghobrial, American Association for the Advancement of Science,
Grażyna Żebrowska, Foundation for Polish Science,
The complete nomination should consist of:
Acknowledgement by a nominator of the joint scientific achievement made by the two candidates in the sense of the award
The document should include a concise description of a one specific achievement and commentary concerning the impact of this achievement on the resolution of a societal or scientific problem.
Curricula vitae of both scientists and a list of publications relevant to the joint achievement
One letter of support for the couple of nominees (in case of self-nominations – two)
The letter of support should be issued by a third party – neither a nominator nor the nominees.
It should contain informative comment on the quality of the achievement reported as the basis of the nomination.
In the case of self-nomination please provide two such letters by noninvolved experts.
NB: FNP or AAAS may contact the nominators to ask for additional information or documents.