The 2022 FNP Prizes Awarded

Dodano: :: Kategorie: Latest news
-A A+

For the thirty-first time, the Foundation for Polish Science awarded its Prizes, which enjoy the reputation of the most important scientific distinction in Poland. The laureates are three outstanding scientists: Professors Marcin Nowotny, Bartosz Grzybowski, and Adam Łajtar.

The FNP Prize honors outstanding achievements and scientific discoveries that push the boundaries of cognition and open new research perspectives, provide an exceptional contribution to Poland?s civilizational and cultural advancement and assure the country with a significant position for undertaking the most ambitious challenges of the modern world. The amount of the award is PLN 200,000.

Prof. Marcin Nowotny from the International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology in Warsaw, Poland, received the 2021 FNP Prize in the area of life and earth sciences for the explanation of the molecular mechanisms of DNA damage recognition and its repair.

Prof. Bartosz Grzybowski from the Institute of Organic Chemistry of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw and the Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Ulsan, Republic of Korea, received the 2021 FNP Prize in the area of chemistry and materials sciences for the development and empirical verification of an algorithmic methodology for planning chemical synthesis.

Prof. Adam Lajtar from the Faculty of Archaeology at the University of Warsaw, Poland, received the 2021 FNP Prize in the area of humanities and social sciences for the interpretation of epigraphic sources explaining the religious-cultural functioning of medieval communities living in the Nile Valley.

No prize was awarded in the field of mathematical, physical and engineering sciences.

The FNP Prize is an individual award granted by the Council of the Foundation by way of competition in four areas: life and earth sciences; chemistry and materials sciences; mathematical, physical, and engineering sciences and humanities and social sciences. Candidates for this honor may be nominated by distinguished scientists personally invited by the Foundation?s Executive Board and Council. The FNP Council serves as the competition committee and selects the winners based on opinions from independent experts and reviewers ? mainly from abroad ? who assess the candidates? achievements.

The members of the Foundation Council for the current term are professors:

  • Tomasz Guzik (Medical College of Jagiellonian University) ? Chair of the Council
  • Grażyna Jurkowlaniec (Institute of Art History, Faculty of Arts and Culture Sciences, University of Warsaw) ? Vice-Chair of the Council
  • Piotr Garstecki (Institute of Physical Chemistry, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw)
  • Jan Kotwica (Institute of Animal Reproduction and Food Research, Polish Academy of Sciences, Olsztyn)
  • Tomasz Łuczak (Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań)
  • Aleksandra Łuszczyńska (SWPS University of Humanities and Social Sciences)
  • Maria Nowakowska (Faculty of Chemistry, Jagiellonian University)

The FNP Prizes have been awarded since 1992. Including this year?s winners, there have been a total of 113 laureates. Full list here.

The award ceremony will be held on December 7, 2022, and will be transmitted online.

More information